Spoken in a Bottle, Timeless Words

The birds have all flown away in the falling blue sky
As an angel sat watching her dream disappear
And even the flowers cried her name
In the soft undergrowth of fountainous tears
Dreft naught, but high in the breeze of her flowing white hair
She dared to dream once more
In the sanctity of all that was her hopes
She wrote her name with blades of grass
Flung to life, and caught by death
Yet it alone remembered her

In the bottle of time, she shone on in darkness
And wrote with her bleeding fingers the joy that was not her own
And wrote her story on the script of her life
Tossed to the waves of resurrection
Caught by hands which caressed her face in love and embrace
For they were the only ones ever to trace the path of her tears
Shed only once, and never again
Adding that last cherished word of remembrance
Forgotten
And never spoken again

The_Summoning by Arielle Carroll

In the days the angel passed away
Moaned her everlasting sorrow one last time
“Remember me when you are old
For you forgot me in your youth
Shed my tears that I wished never to shed
And drink my loving wine
From the bottle whence I spoke my words for you
And left them forever to drift
Like my soul
In all that I had bled from my veins to the page…remember…”

Still this day I wonder where she left to
Had the sky known her voice in those harrowing hours
It would have built her a fortress from the rubble
For once she flew high as the birds
In solitude, grace, and beautiful raven wings
Yet still I see those feathers,
Trailing her path to the sea
Drowning, heart-heavy at the bottom of my soul
Returning her thoughts to me in a bottle, floating free
Opening lost treasures with tears shed like words… “Remember me…”

Note from the Author:This is the first part of a two-poem series. Be sure to stop by next week to read the second poem and find out what is so interesting about these two poems.  🙂

Leave a Reply

