A Message in Darkness

“Some people remember; most forget.”

In harrowing darkness spent mourning the end
Sought only in solitude and deliberate proliferation of vengeance
And yet not for you, my dear Abigail
I cannot hate what I cannot blame
For it is life which took you from my arms
And death which shall return you to me
Lost, without hope of consolation
I dread you to forget, if even for a time
My love

Shallow breathing vex my throat in choking sorrow
I wish neither for air nor sleep nor any condolence of grief
For loss is but a memory of restless spirits
Bent on the kill
Slaves for all eternity, to worship their own demise
And mine
For if the angel, Abigail should return
I doubt that I should return to myself
For there are no tears left to shed…neither in joy nor release

Eternal_Slave_of_Fear by Arielle Carroll

Seek me in the the pitch black of a moonless night
Wandering with spirits which shall ever be my companions
I shall not forget thee, my blessed Abigail
For you were my daughter
You were my friend
Out of the bowels of hell, I retrieved you
As would I, my own flesh
To send you on in strength which, for me, fails
As I fall helplessly in want of your child-like kiss

Alone, I will walk as the dead
For I have already joined the spirits long ago
You, my dearest, were one of so few that I have loved
Do not be afraid
Death is but a gentle parting of ways
Perhaps as you grow, you will think back to my tomb
Laden with satin nights of dreary dread
Scattered amid the papers which float endlessly to the unlit furnace
And the picture which sits fading in the chamber’s desk -drawer

“Some people remember–Don’t forget….me…”

Note from the Author: The original title was A Message in Darkness (revision of  – Spoken in a Bottle, Timeless Words). I wrote these two poems in 2006, back to back (one being a revision of the other), but they seem utterly different, as none of the original poem was kept in the revision. I found this fact quite interesting. Hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

