A Song of Desolate Gardens

Unlock_the_Secrets by Arielle Carroll

I burn upon this miserable sod that my feet evermore are forced to tread
My soul is a wanderer from the farthest stretches that my spirit dares to dream
Oh, my father, why have I been cursed upon this silence?
I am the desolate child, lost within thousands of tears which water this barren soil
The gardens arise with the mist that I, forsaken, have come to whisper upon the wind
For eternity, I shall crumble within this sorrowful song.

I pour out my lasting love upon those ears which turn away
And I cry the morrow, wherewith the sun will never shine
How could I have borne my sins to the sky,
When all I have desired is this single embrace
which the flowers of my sanctity alone will bear for me
When the melody becomes only a tear, stolen by the breeze

There is worth within the sparkling rivers of my solitary hope
They who dream in tears
And fall in ash
This is the birthplace of my peaceful fairytale
Where I would be a queen of the dew
With tiny wings to kiss each petal and lay my empty soul to rest

One day, when the melody has carried me to my far-away dream
And the sand has travelled to your shore
I shall sit and listen to the wind
And fare away the pain which renders me broken and alone,
For my words will fall upon the wishes in this grove
Where the burning will be but the memory of a tear-filled past.

Leave a Reply

