Sparrow

This rose withers in the scorching sun
As the angels fly away
Little do they realize that as the petals fade
The sparrow remains locked away

Search for truth and the key will be found
All fairytales of a distant dream
Flowing like fountains from behind my eyes
And chasing the song of windchimes

Hide away, hide away on some distant shore
And wait for freedom to carry me to you
Disenchanted dreamer come die alone with me
Wherever you are, you are still a part of me

I will make my mind’s escape and join myself again
One day, lying on the shores of stars
Whispering no more the open sores of the cage
Broken with bandages laying on red soil

Claw my repose and see that I bleed
Send me to my dream of evermore
For I disappeared before your eyes
The night you locked the door

No more blood upon silvery clouds
For I am empty of my remorse
In black I shall ride into a dream
Fading into the sparrow’s eyes

As the wind carries away the final trace
And the night calls one last time
You will find the rose no more
For my heart drifted alone all these years
Floating with the breeze… towards life’s first breath

Leave a Reply

