A Heart’s Goodbye

Dancing_Through_Grief_by_Arielle_Carroll

So many places
And yet my heart wanders
So many times
And yet my soul continues its voyage
A ship tossed upon the waves
A bird, fighting against the wind
With no refuge,
No place to rest its wearied wings
And still the spirit wanders on
Sails blazing against the current
Wishes torn from me
Dreams dying in the dust

But could that clay be reborn again
To form a new creature?
Could that dream rise again
As the great one, to heaven
From the defeating flames of yesterday?

As death brings life
And life brings death
And the days turn to months
And months to years
And as I numb with each stroke of time
I wonder in simple amazement
At those tiny droplets of resilience
Falling from my eyes in great floods
And tiny mists
As the minutes pass on
And the hour comes nigh
To say my goodbyes

Is it any wonder
Any great prospect for philosophers
To wrap their great minds around human nature
And see the reflection of their own souls
Old as the ages, and young as a child’s delight?

And the seconds pass on
Closer to my farewell
As I gather my forces
To conquer a new life
A new dream
And ride my chariot of flame to a new tomorrow
Rich with wonder and thick with hello’s
Searching ever for more
But free to find myself in all of these things
Free to love
Free to breathe
Free to smile at whatever brings joy

So fear not these goodbyes
For they are a necessity in the many tomorrows
Which shall embrace my heart
As I embrace the truth
In visions that captivate this heart
Which grows wiser with the years
And these times of suffering
For once the goodbyes are done
And the pain fades into memory
What remains is mine to build
As I sit upon the throne of the future
Fashioning my own crown, without remorse…

Leave a Reply

