Desert’s Child

Please take me away
To the sands of my birth
The dream of my incarnation
Where first I breathed the morning
And exhaled the dusk
May the land hear my call
For I am alone again

Pain seeks its treasure in buried temples
Ancient, yet not forgotten
Not by me
For I was awakened in a bed of rage
Bringing storms across distant horizons
My yesterdays of wrath
Which fill my tomorrows once more

Let the sands caress my face
And the sweat kiss my eyes
For my vision burns of you, my home
Humanity will take its leave of me
For what I never was cannot remain
Only the spirit which was born of this fire
And the body which tempts not the fortunes of bliss

The barren sun weeps for its lost child
In a death-trance which mourning could not overtake
I can hear the moans which erupt from both above and below
It surrounds me with a desire which could never be quenched
For I belong with the jackals and the asps
I am the heart which rises in its grave
A traveller carried home by the wind

I will reach my horizon
I will see the visions in my dreams
Forever could not hold back this longing
For it is older than the seas
And furious in its need
The inhuman force resonating in my pulse
I will return, a child of the sand and a god of the lonely flame…

Leave a Reply

