From Heaven They Fell Weeping

 

Cherubs fall from the sky
As ash and stone conceal the sun
The aftermath of a war beyond the stars
Come crushing our frail beliefs with a thunderous blow

How their bodies bleed the desperate fumes of wrath
For they were cast down from euphoria
From the heaven they once knew
The open arms of joy, which now refuse embrace

These children of redemption lay barren as they weep
While sands crawl to bury their mournful dying flesh
Decayed remnants of love
With arms outstretched in desolate yearning
For their thirst will never be quenched again

The lullabies of yesterday are all but a fading memory
With prayers that haunt and whisper in the evening fog
And hatred recounted a thousand fold
For the one who swore the kiss of life

In crumbling armies, their bones scatter to the wind
Their tears no more a treasure
Their voice no more a song
In homage to their dreams of mirth, I turn to look away

In the morn, I awake, eyes streaming with the pain
My vision of the night, burning deep within my eyes
I cannot bear these surmounting thoughts
Carved such countless nights ago
Upon the labyrinth of my mind

Again and again I am forced to repeat
Each dying breath
Each question eternally wondering
Each echo, forever trapped in time

The sun stretches out again
Upon the misery of my spirit’s death
Senses lost
Screaming out in all my rage

I bow, in agony, kneeling
Amidst the storm rushing through my mind
This is my final desolation,
Which devours my will to survive

I commit myself to an ending,
One terrible, yet peaceful thought
As darkness beholds my body
May it take me gently as I die…

Leave a Reply

