A Dream of Sleep

 

The stars hide far away
In the darkness of my mind
As the flames grow dim inside
Seeking solitary warmth
Yet finding emptiness and cold
Within tired unblinking orbs

Sleep has forgotten me
Somewhere in the misery
Pacing anxiety in service to the night
Lost in half-dreams and silence
Desperate, slowly dying
Another victim of the mirror
Another horror stalks the fear I hide

Passing through etherium
Breathing deep then not at all
A wish for peaceful fantasy
Drowned by struggling madness
Gasping for life
Leaving claw marks on the corridors within

Oh labyrinth, swallow me
Take me to thy netherworld
Oblivious to the morning light
Rest has fled so far away
Chasing fireflies
In some long-forgotten realm
In some distant palace where my soul resides

Wandering through these halls
Anticipating death to call
Grasp the blade to close my eyes…
Dreaming in a fog
Past the break, I’ve come this far
Waking daylight comes again

Leave a Reply

