In The Fields

I have slowly found my faith in the sands that once buried the saint of fire
For the insects have betrayed themselves in the wealth of carrion
I am no more their slave… not for nothing.
I will fear nothing; clarity becomes the storm that will free my soul
And the sun will forget my face
As twilight becomes the robe of my desire

Silence beckons the steel chaos within, and I feel the chains
My voice is a thunder
Which for far too long has remained in the depths
And I will pour from this lonely shadow as a gale
May the winds find the echo of a lost spirit who has found her wings
And lay the road once more that I trod so long ago

The lady of winter shall shed her tears,
As summer’s flower shall dream its dreams upon the night
For the seas of forever shall not be forgotten by my eyes
They behold the constant flow of my passage throughout,
Where burden shall rescind to the sky
In the brevity that is my sullen wake

My soul shall invoke the power of these tears
For I have shed them in the dew and in the tempest which brought the pain
The hourglass has brought screams of betrayal and sighs of delight
Wherewith I have pounded my fists upon the ash
But upon this fire, I shall awaken my fate,
And burn in the fields of a defiant strength

Leave a Reply

