Distort

Unlock The Secrets by Arielle Carroll

 

I saw your dream last night
In shades of grey and black
Mingling with the ivory of your heart
Slowly distorting the shadows
To make them seem as light

I heard your scream last night
In whispers of hell
Betrayal of yourself
Slowly turning your smile to tears
All the while, killing me inside

I felt your touch last night
Warm against my heart
And yet it felt so cold inside
A silent call for bleeding
As the ravenous devoured

I saw my soul dying today
In contorted shapes of pain
As the marksman pierced my will
And the fog surrounded my form
–Silently lonely for myself

Painfully longing for your breath
Upon my mind
Speaking sanity upon the flittering dove
Turned black
How I wished for death!

Darkening reality shattering my dreams
Misery is flesh
As the wrathful abyss opens wide
To the charity of hate
And the fire burns away the wholeness that was

Ash to ash, soul to soul
We fall short of the truth within
Our mind is but a prison cell
With twisted bars
And fading hope, even while escape is in view

I saw the world as a blind man today
The murder of the sun
And contented as I was to see it fall
I wished for one clear moment
To wipe it all away…

 

Leave a Reply

