Archive for September 25, 2011

Dead Harvest

Posted in From a Melancholic Soul, Passion and Pain with tags , , , on September 25, 2011 by mistressofpoetry

If there were a time
That I could live
Never leaving the tender gaze of the leaves
Dressed in their vibrant yet fading colours
Such would be my eternity

For I would always crave their shimmering touch
Draped in want of the spring
Ever thirsting for the clear waters of renewal
But not a drop would they drink

Soon I will fade into the wood
Run free and never look back
The patriarch will clothe me in the jeweled ivy of the undergrowth
And keep me safe and warm
Within his loving hands of dew-scented ecstasy

But these cruel words of yours twist within my mind
Deafening my desire
And drowning out all beauty, all passion
With the noise of your hate

Would I dare to dream beneath your storm?
I would dare to silence your breath with the bare branches of winter
For I cannot live and be dead all at once
My heart cannot allow such deadly nightmares to breed on
Never knowing any comfort, never feeling the tenderness of the sun

You failed to water me, even in the midst of your rains
And I have withered like an orchid in the desert
Now your touch only breeds decay
For I crumble like those petals and drift away with the wind

Would you notice my absence?
Or would you cry, desperate for my bleeding corpse?
Sympathy only lasts a season
For what harvest can you bring me
When all that was promised is now dead?